THE DIRTY DEED

In the south of Scotland, residents get their chimneys vacuum cleaned. But in the isolated villages in the very north of Scotland, the villagers rely on the services of the itinerant sweep, Pete Ray, and his old fashioned brushes. Pete is always able to find work in the Scottish highlands, until one day when Police Constable Hamish Macbeth notices blood dripping onto the floor of a villager’s fireplace, and a dead body stuffed inside the chimney.

The entire town of Lochdubh is certain Pete is the culprit, but Hamish doesn’t believe that the affable chimney sweep is capable of committing murder. Then Pete’s body is found on the Scottish moors, and the mystery deepens. Once again, it’s up to Hamish to discover who’s responsible for the dirty deed and this time, the murderer may be closer than he realizes.

AUTHOR: M.C. BEATON

TITLE: DEATH OF A CHIMNEY SWEEP

GENRE: Mystery

Recommendation: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7993967-death-of-a-chimney-sweep

http://www.amazon.com/Death-Chimney-Hamish-Macbeth-Mystery/dp/0446547409

6 thoughts on “THE DIRTY DEED

  1. Sounds interesting. I love Scotland as a setting for dark tales. Have you ever seen the film American Werewolf in London? Part of it is set in the North of England (which is much like Scotland) and it’s very atmospheric, even though that is really a black comedy/horror not just horror or mystery. Thank you for following my art blog, and I’m glad you liked my post on Killers Among Us. I have to write one more follow up to that series because I found out that there was another serial killer targeting children right in my neighborhood while I was growing up in Oakland County, MI. I am following you and look forward to reading your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read this one. It sounds great and I plan to read it – I will add it to my list of books to read. I like M.C.Beaton personally and enjoy her work.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

