The Power of a Big “But”

HAVE YOU EVER THOUGHT OF HOW POWERFUL THE WORD “BUT” IS BEFORE USING IT?

My B+ Attempts at Being All That

I’ve been thinking a lot about buts. Really.  The kind of buts that take everything we just said and negate it. The kind of buts that can take a lovely compliment and flush it down the toilet. The kind of buts that earn our credibility a check in the “lost it” category.

But mom, everyone is doing it!

We’ve all done it. “I love you, BUT . . .” “I’m a Christian, BUT . . .” “I believe we should be helping out our fellow man, BUT . . .” I’m as guilty as the next. I need to vent. I feel I’m entitled to the exception to the principles that guide me. I decide that as long as I am mostly convicted about the “I” statement, it’s okay to have a big “but.” But, is it? And just how much damage is that but doing? Let’s take a look…

View original post 343 more words

Leave a Reply

